No Court Appearance Required
Alabama permits individuals who receive a ticket for minor traffic violations to plead guilty and pay the prescribed fine and court cost without appearing in court. Violations that do not require a court appearance vary by county and include but are not limited to allowing a child under the age of 16 to operate a motor vehicle, improper signal, switching a license tag, failure to yield right of way, and running a stop sign. As of 2010, combined fines and court costs ranged from $10 for failure to wear a seat belt to $442 for failure to weigh.
Court appearance required
In all cases when a defendant wishes to plead not guilty to a traffic ticket in Alabama, the defendant must appear in court. Some traffic violations require an appearance in court even if he intends to plead guilty. These include driving under a revoked, suspended or canceled driver’s license, reckless driving, passing a stopped school bus or church bus, and speeding at more than 100 miles per hours, according to the Alabama Traffic Service Center. In 2006, fines involving violations that required a court appearance could be as high as $500. Source: Alabama Traffic Service Center.