“Many times when I have been held up in the country by a heavy shower and the absence of my rubber coat made it necessary to return home after dark and through a mist laden atmosphere which my lamp would not penetrate, I would await with trepidation a collision with some lightless carriage or swift moving auto coming in the opposite direction.  Strange as it may seem, a white handkerchief tied over the front of your lamp helps the light to pierce the fog.

Often when entering a town, I notice the glare of my gas lamp would cause considerable inconvenience to approaching horse-drawn vehicles and pedestrians, who became rather confused by the dazzling light.  Now, when going into larger towns and cities where there is considerable evening traffic, I open the door of my lamp, put a piece of thin brown paper over the opening and close the door again.  This produces a dimmed light, sufficient to show me the way without dazzling anyone.  This tip must be observed in large cities, such as New York, where the law does not allow the use of acetylene lights”.  – Motorcycle Illustrated.  June 15, 1910.

