Tags

This is quite an event to report.  Four generations of women, all riding their own motorcycles.  Only incident, I believe, in the U.S.

Here is the story as told by Motor Maid Helen Blansitt, St. Louis, Mo., Number two of the four.

“My Mother, Mrs. Flora Davis, started riding her brother’s 1916 model Indian, shortly after he bought it brand new.  In those days the correct attire for riding a motorcycle was a “middie blouse” and a divided skirt.  You can imagine the talk this motorcycle-ridin’ gal caused around the hills of old Virginia.  Women were seldom known to drive automobiles, let alone ride a motorcycle.  Mother let them talk and kept right on riding.  I remember riding with her when, well gee, I was barely knee-high to a short duck!

I attended grade school riding ten miles solo…nope, I rode a horse, not a motorcycle then.  A few years later the family moved to Dayton, Ohio, and my big interest became roller skating.

I was winning championships and headed for bigger things when I got side-tracked by marrying and raising a family—end of my roller skating career.

My two daughters were quite small when the old motorcycle fire caught up with me again.  I used to envy anyone I saw riding a motorcycle and would beg to be taken for a ride.  This way very unsatisfactory, so in 1937 I bought a motorcycle all my own.

My very first trip was to St. Louis, Mo., to see my mother and take her for a ride.  She was really thrilled and enjoyed that time as she had years before.  She still loves to ride whenever she gets a chance.

In 1940 I heard of a Girl’s Club being formed by Linda Dagaeu and Dot Robinson and became a charter member in that club—the Motor Maids of America.  I now have my life-time bronze membership card of which I am very proud.  I have been an AMA member for eighteen years.  I’m proud of that too.

During the war years I belonged to a messenger service and rode my motorcycle daily in performing my duties.  I really enjoyed this work and relish the experience it gave me.

My husband, Art, has been an AMA member nineteen years and both daughters, Joan and Lottie, have owned and ridden their own motorcycles.  Put all our trophies together we have quite a bunch, as we have all won trophies in various contests. 

Both girls are married now and busy raising their families.  Lottie’s eldest daughter, Kathy, loves to ride a motorcycle and no one dares leave the place by cycle unless she protests, but loud, in not being taken along.  She is headed for Miss Motor Maid 1970, I betcha.    – American Motorcyclist.  June 1955.  Used with permission, Mr. James Holter, Publications. 

See this site for photos that went with this article:  books.google.com/books?id=9fsDAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA11&dq=motorcycle+%22divided+skirt%22&hl=en#v=onepage&q=divided%20skirt&f=false

 

